The real reason women are targeted for violence

It’s not because we’re the “weaker” sex

Susie Kahlich
6 min readJan 16, 2022
Photo by Sam Manns on Unsplash

Last week I was at a screening for a short documentary I participated in, called On the Use of Self Defense, directed by Hannah Kugel (and with an incredible soundtrack by Georgia Johnston). The documentary features some footage of me training in the dojo with a couple of my male martial arts colleagues.

In the Q&A after the screening, one woman asked me, “do you ever feel safe? Because in the film you’re throwing around these guys, and you seem really tough, so you must feel pretty safe. Do you?” Another woman chimed in that “it seems that with your kind of training, like with self-defense training in general, you are less likely to be attacked because you walk differently, you’re moving differently in your body, you’re giving off a different vibe.”

I have been training in martial arts for over 20 years. I have three black belts. I know how to use weapons. I developed an entire self-defense program for women. So I should feel safe, right?

Telling women that they are more likely to be attacked because they don’t walk with confidence is another form of victim-blaming.

--

--

Susie Kahlich

CEO of SINGE | Founder of Pretty Deadly Self Defense @ prettydeadlyselfdefense.com | Former producer of art podcast Artipoeus: art you can hear @ artipoeus.com